Strawberry Jam and Gooseberry Pie

Hello again! My life has been a crazy mess of driving the boys to their baseball games, watching baseball games, spending way too much on concession stand food, doing an insane amount of laundry, searching for uniforms that I know I just washed, dried and folded, and taking C to early morning weights for football. I can’t seem to find much time for me!

I have been able to accomplish a few things. Yesterday, in the cool early morning hours, I made a batch of strawberry jam. I popped it in the fridge to cool and haven’t been able to put it into jars yet (haven’t even gotten to taste it yet! Bummer!) but hope that it’s really good as it’s my first batch I’ve made on my own. I only got 3 strawberries (so far) from my garden so I bought 6 pints from an Amish stand. They were totally organic too!

I picked a ton of gooseberries a few days ago and plan on making a pie with them, but haven’t had the time yet. I don’t want the berries to go bad, so I may have to freeze them. Baseball is winding down, which always is bittersweet, so my life won’t be near as busy then.

My little garden is coming along. I wasn’t able to build any additional beds like I had planned, so I am trying to plant things in pots. We’ll see how they turn out! E loves the garden the best and has to check on the plants at least once a day, if not more. Who knows, maybe I got a bunch of strawberries but he ate them all! HaHa!

The boys have a good time at the ballgames even if they aren’t playing! There’s always a group of kids to play with! ballgameAnd the days are getting warmer, so it feels more like summer now. No more long sleeves!! We haven’t been to the pool yet, but hope to this week.

The boys are also (ALL 4!) participating in the summer reading program and there are always fun things to do at the library!

Mail has been slow, but that’s because I’m in a writing slump. I think it is because I’m so busy that I sort of fall into bed at night. I DID write a letter yesterday, so hopefully I’m over the hump!

See you all on the flip side!

One thought on “Strawberry Jam and Gooseberry Pie

  1. I wanna see a picture of your gooseberry pie when you make it šŸ™‚ And youll totally have to share your strawberry jam recipe. I wanna try! MISS YOU!

Leave a Reply

