Reading, Basketball and Band

E has been learning to read for some time now but it always seemed like it was such a chore for him. He fought reading and would act silly to get out of it. He knew the words but all of a sudden, it has clicked! My mom got these 2 books for him in the library and he is able to read both AND enjoys it!! He feels so grown up because he can read BOOKS! He reads with a good flow too! I’m so proud of him!

3bears   3pigs

I wasn’t able to get a picture of him reading yet, but will try to remember to get one posted soon. He’s so excited about reading that the next time we go to the library, he will get his first library card and be able to check out books that he can read! I love this milestone and am so blessed to have watched each boy’s excitement at getting their own library card!

These books are perfect for new readers and help them build their confidence as a reader!

This picture is of the conference band that C participated in. You can’t really make out his face, so I put an arrow pointing to him.

HDC band 2015 

He plays clarinet and tried out for a chair. Out of 13 clarinets, he earned 6th chair! Keep in mind that he’s only 12 and in 7th grade and was competing against other kids who were in 7-12th grades! Quite the accomplishment!! The band played back in January, but I wasn’t able to take a picture and just found this photo on the county paper’s website!

L & K are playing elementary basketball and have a pretty good team! They have only had 1 game so far and I tried to take a picture but it didn’t turn out very well. They play tonight, so hopefully I can get a better photo.

I read the following book for my Reading Challenge 2015. It was a fine romance but what I thought was the most interesting, was the fact that the characters were immigrants from Iran. I learned a lot about Iranian culture and how Iran was in the 1970 and how it is currently. It is categorized under “Book you can read in a day” because it was a quick read and it was a rare “free day” and I was actually to read more than a few pages! I chose the book because of something really cool that my library is doing, which is called “The Book Dating Game”. You choose a number from a bowl and whichever number you choose, that is the genre of book you have to get for your “date”. It was fun and I can’t wait to do it again!

"Book you can read in a day"
“Book you can read in a day”
Leave a Reply

